Tube Radio Forum - The friendliest radio forum on the net!
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Restoration of a three tube radio

Go down

Restoration of a three tube radio Empty Restoration of a three tube radio

Post by rlfradio on Thu Dec 03, 2020 6:27 am

Good day to all here on this wonderful forum. I joined this forum in Jan 2020 and have been lurking until now so this is my first posting here. I have been restoring tube radios for about four years. Going to keep this short and make sure I can post and attach properly. About six months ago I saved a radio from a deposit of stuff at the curb of a house with a free sign on it. I have restored it to the best of my ability and have questions I will be posting about it in following posts. Here is what I drug home.

Restoration of a three tube radio Cab112

Restoration of a three tube radio Cab412

Restoration of a three tube radio Cha212

Restoration of a three tube radio Cha411

Restoration of a three tube radio Cha1911

Restoration of a three tube radio Cha510

As you can see it is an interesting radio. There are no factory markings and I am 99% sure the cabinet and radio are home brewed. I first traced all the wiring and drew a point to point wiring diagram. Then drew a schematic based on this. Here is here my schematic ( rlf_schem_3)and a schematic of an Australian 35B radio that is very similar. Sorry for the poor quality.

Restoration of a three tube radio Rlf_sc10

Restoration of a three tube radio Healin11

I purchased a battery eliminator from AES to use to test this radio. I had no idea what voltages to use so I started with voltages hand written inside the cabinet.

Restoration of a three tube radio Voltag11